The Lazy Genius

Security News & Brain Dumps from Xavier Ashe, a Bit9 Client Partner

Impressions of Windows 8 for the family

Posted by Xavier Ashe on January 25, 2013

I’ve been running Windows 8 on one my laptops since it’s release and put in the kitchen for my family to use.  It’s a powerful laptop, i7, 12 gb RAM, nice graphics card.  I’ve used it, as has my wife and my three elementary age kids.  My teenagers have their own PCs and laptops.  I’m now replacing this laptop (need to give it back to IBM) with another.  It has Windows 7 on it.  Note, neither laptops have a touchscreen.

My first thought was to reformat with a fresh Windows 8 install, since it will be the new family machine.  Windows 8 has family controls built in to the OS, has PIN logons, and the Metro look and feel is very nice.  But I started thinking about how many family uses it.

My wife was constantly frustrated about trying to get stuff done on it.  The Metro version of IE has some shortcomings, mainly not running flash unless Microsoft approves it.  She googled how to recreate a Start button, and if she uses this machine, she goes directly to the desktop.  She never used one of the Metro apps, but she also has her own laptop with Windows 7.  She installed Chrome and stopped using IE 10.

My boys (ages 6 and 8) love the Bing app.  They can spend hours just searching various star wars names and looking at the image results.  But IE has problems with various sites like starwars.com and lego.com.  I put a Chrome icon on their Metro home page.  It of course runs in the desktop.

My 10 year old daughter does a lot of homework online.  Half of her sites don’t work in IE 10, so she uses chrome, too.  My 8 year old boy attends an online school.  Again, IE 10 doesn’t work.  Word processing is via Symphony, on the desktop.

Even though I installed a bunch of free Metro games for the kids, they don’t use them.  They want the games on PBS, Star Wars, Lego, American Girl, and other web sites.  They each got their own Android tablets for Hanukkah, so all those Metro games have similar ports on Android and are more fun to play on a touchscreen device.

The only positive things out of Windows 8 is the Bing Search app, parental controls built it, and my kids learning how to use the new OS.  But in the end, most just go to the desktop and launch Chrome.  The new laptop has a fingerprint scanner, so there’s no reason for a password or PIN.

I think I will leave Windows 7 on the new family laptop.  I get my new work PC next week.  I will contemplate putting Windows 8 on there for a while and see how it works for work.

Leave a Reply

 
