The Lazy Genius

Security News & Brain Dumps from Xavier Ashe, a Bit9 Client Partner

Moving On and adding some Bits

Posted by Xavier Ashe on January 11, 2013

As of February 1st, I will be leaving IBM.   It’s been a great 7 years.   I never thought I could enjoy working for a large company, or working so long in the same position.   Man was I wrong.   IBM really has some great people, and I had the best quality of life during my tenure.   Even though I was in the same position, life was rarely dull with constant acquisitions (nearly one per year that affected me!).   I started off working with NeuSecure/TSOM, then TDI, then TCIM, then TSIEM, then AppScan, then Proventia and SiteProtector, then BigFix/TEM, and finally QRadar.   That’s a busy seven years!

Well, what’s next?  I have accepted a position at Bit9 as a client partner. I am excited about this on several fronts.   One, I think the technology is amazing.   I’ve never been a big supporter of virus scan products.   They just never seem to offer adequate protection.   Bit9′s approach is to whitelist the good stuff as opposed to trying to find all the bad stuff.   I really think this is a better way to secure endpoints.   I’ll be posting more on my security philosophy soon.

Secondly, I’m excited to be moving to a small company.   Not only is moving to a start-up* exciting, the people there are too.   Everyone I’ve talked to so far seems to be on the same page as me when it comes to security philosophy, business philosophy, and look to be very fun to work with.   I was lucky to find a good crew at IBM, and it looks like my luck continues at Bit9.

Also the client partner role looks to be very fulfilling.   When I look back on my time at IBM, I really enjoyed the time that I could form long-term relationships with my customers.   That’s also where I found the greatest success.   This position looks to mix engagement management, relationship management, and technical account management. I’m also planning on doing some evangelist work too.

I am so excited to get started at Bit9 in February.   I will have to spend some time deprogramming myself as an IBMer, but I think this is a good move with a good company with a great product.

* Bit9′s been around for about 7 years and can hardly be called a start-up anymore.   But every company seems like start-up when coming from IBM.

4 Responses to “Moving On and adding some Bits”

  1. Nice man! Congrats!

    Like

  2. Yashin Ahmed said

    All the best ! I will continue to follow your blog and hope to remain in your network 🙂

    Like

  3. Sounds like a great opportunity, I cannot think of someone more deserving!

    Like

  4. Stefanie Dye said

    Best wishes to you on your new adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
