The Lazy Genius

Security News & Brain Dumps from Xavier Ashe, a Bit9 Client Partner

Transitioning From TSIEM and/or TSOM to QRadar – Intro

Posted by Xavier Ashe on February 7, 2012

Hello SIEM world. I have been working with IBM SIEM products for years now and we have come along way. Some products can grow with the changing tides of customer needs, while other times we must leapfrog the competition and acquire a new technology. I am so excited to get to work with the new products from Q1 Labs, QRadar and QRisk Manager. We still have TSIEM and TSOM available, but a couple of customers have asked me about transitioning to QRadar. I will be at IBM Pulse this year covering the topic. I’ve decide to post my materials here as I develop them.

Tivoli Security Operations Manager, or TSOM, is used for automating the tasks of a Security Operations Center (SOC), big or small. It’s real-time and statistical correlation allows customers to automate many responses to events and manage large amounts of data from a vast collection of endpoints, mostly networking and security devices. It enabled security personnel to quickly drive to the source of a problems or flag it as a false positive.

Tivoli Security Information and Event Manager, or TSIEM, is used to develop rich reporting for user based activities. The tool collects from operating systems, databases, and applications, allowing customers to track user activities throughout their network. The resulting reports were meaningful and concise, allowing for reports to be consumed by non-technical staff and auditors to pass compliance.

To get the best of both worlds, we integrated the two to get a powerful, flexible architecture. The two products work very well together, getting the best out of both worlds, security and user compliance. I’ve deployed this dual architecture all over the world (and still have at least more more to do this year).

Now we have added QRadar from Q1 Labs to the mix. QRadar is a powerful security analytics tool that brings unbridled flexibility to the SIEM space. It’s distributed architecture allows for 10-20 times (at least) the events per seconds that TSOM or TSIEM could do, opening the door to new environments for SIEM. One of my favorite features is the Netflow and QFlow analyzers. I’ll be posting a customer story soon about how the combination of event data and flow data allowed us to find an infected host behind a firewall and Citrix server. With QRadar, you get ease of use, tons of automatically updated security content, plus enough flexibility to get this old services guy excited. As the product stands today, I can configure it to do some amazing things. Plus the roadmap is chock full of even more features.

So while you can still get TSOM and TSIEM from IBM, I can see the excitement around QRadar. It’s a whole new class of product and I join you in the excitement. As I develop material around transitioning, I’ll post it here. I think I’ll probably end up writing another Redpaper, like I did when we transitioned from Tivoli Risk Manager to TSOM. If you are going to be at IBM Pulse, please drop me a line. I’d love to hear how you’re using the tools and how I can be of service. Just think about it like this: Go to Pulse and get free consulting!

Leave a Reply

 
