The Lazy Genius

Security News & Brain Dumps from Xavier Ashe, a Bit9 Client Partner

Funny "Hacking" Story

Posted by Xavier Ashe on March 4, 2008

After a bit more back-and-forth about how he could “just answer any questions I had right now”, the sales rep pointed me to their sample ads, a 7mb PDF with sixteen pages of seemingly real companies, all with the same phone number (555-555-5555) and the same website (00000000000.com). Somehow, that didn't convince me to “invest” several hundred dollars, so the salesman faxed over some more inforation with a single, real ad.

As I eagerly waited for the follow-up call later that day, I thought I'd take a minute or two to check out their website. Almost immediately, I came across their Federal Procurement Officers Only page. Out of curiousity, I entered a username and password, and then clicked the Login button. Instantly, a JavaScript dialog popped-up…

Since there's really only one thing that could cause such a dialog to pop-up so fast, I checked the source code…

Entertaining story posted on The Daily WTF.

Leave a Reply

 
