The Lazy Genius

Security News & Brain Dumps from Xavier Ashe, a Bit9 Client Partner

Phreaky Boys: audio of phreaker exploits from 1990

Posted by Xavier Ashe on October 3, 2006

When I was a dumb teenager, I spent a lot of time dabbling in the
phreaker culture of the late 80s / early 90s. During that time, I made
audio recordings of compromised voice mail box systems that were
commandeered by phone hackers. The hackers would replace the original
box greetings with more interesting content such as calling card /
credit card numbers, underground BBS numbers, hacking tips, and other
goodies.

These recordings languished on crappy, hissy old analog tapes until
a few years ago when I decided to digitize them for posterity onto my
home computer. There they languished still, until the other day when I
decided to contact Jason Scott (of textfiles.com and bbsdocumentary.com
fame) for his advice on how to get the files out for posterity. He very
generously offered his support of hosting and cataloging the audio
files here: Link.

He has begun adding interesting descriptions for the files in this directory: Link.

I've released the files in the interest of preserving a little bit of
hacker culture history. I was motivated to do this because I have not
yet had any luck finding any similar audio files out there.

From Boing Boing.  1990 doesn't seem that long ago.  I had moved on to TCP/IP, Trumpet WinSock, and SLIP by then. 

Leave a Reply

 
