The Lazy Genius

Security News & Brain Dumps from Xavier Ashe, a Bit9 Client Partner

Dell Installing MyWay Spyware on new Systems

Posted by Xavier Ashe on August 5, 2005

Dell computer company has been installing
the My Way spyware bar since February 24, 2005. This link is to their
web page explaining Dells and My Ways affiliation : (click here) [support.dell.com]


Heres a very interesting thread on the situation with insightful comments by ace First Responder negster22. The thread contains a link to Doxdesk.com with Andrew Clovers analysis of My Ways behavior and why it was deemed spyware.:
Microssoft AS and MyWay
(click here) [castlecops.com]

I had saved a Dell laptop to My Cart that had to be purchased by 9 PM CDT tonight. BUT I came across this thread today : Get rid of My Way Search Bar
(click here) [castlecops.com]

I was not happy to learn that My Way was being pre-installed on Dells systems.

So, I contacted their online support. This is the transcript of that chat:

Get the full scoop on CastleCops.com.

Leave a Reply

 
