The Lazy Genius

Security News & Brain Dumps from Xavier Ashe, a Bit9 Client Partner

2005 Risks in Global Filmmaking Map

Posted by Xavier Ashe on May 30, 2005

Every filmmaker, from
major studios to independent producers, experiences some element of
risk while filming in foreign countries. That is why, each year,
Aon/Albert G Ruben, the largest entertainment insurance broker in the
world, comprehensively measures and maps the risks filmmakers face
across the globe.
 
The 2005 Risks in Global Filmmaking Map measures crime, corruption, kidnap and ransom, disease and medical care risks, and references terrorism and political risks.

My parents are traveling to Israel this fall and I wanted to
see how they ranked the holy land.  Come to find out, Aon/Albert G Ruben ranks it just as dangerous as the US.  I
thought that odd, considering the recent events.  I know things have been
quiet for a while, but I would assume an insurance company would rather work in
the US than in Israel. 
Then… I zoom in to the Middle East to find a new country: Palestine.  They do not rank Palestine, but I bet the recognition of Palestine
allow them to shift the numbers a bit to make Israel look better.  There
many rich companies in Israel
that probably depend on Aon/Albert G Ruben to rank them
fairly safe.  It could be just my paranoia slipping in, but I felt I need
to comment. 

If I have a missed something here due to my US-media-induced
brain
washed perspective, feel free to set me straight.

Found on Boing Boing.

Leave a Reply

 
