The Lazy Genius

Security News & Brain Dumps from Xavier Ashe, a Bit9 Client Partner

The story of Rubix1138

Posted by Xavier Ashe on May 17, 2005

I have gone through many online “handles” as the years have
passed.  It all started back in the BBS days (that's before the
internet ),
where I used Xavier as a handle.  It was not part of my birth
name, but I added it once I started to college.  It turned out
that everyone I knew there, I had met online.  They only knew my
as Xavier.  So I legally added it as a second middle name and have
been going by Xavier ever since.  That presented a new
problem.  What would I use online as my new handle?  I first
started using Rubix^3 (rubik's cubed), but I found that many web sites
and chat programs did not like the caret.  So I added 1138
instead.  This number suffix has caused many questions, but I came
across an article that helps clear the air
THX118, a film directed by George Lucas in 1971, was also the handle of
a dear friend of mine, Kevin Sweeney, who mentored me in the mystic ways of
Unix when I was a technology pup.  Kevin died in a car accident
when I has fairly young and is always in my memories.  So after
seeing this article at TechRebublic.com spell out the significance of THX1138 and the number 1138, I wanted to share a bit of my past.

Leave a Reply

 
